Penalty For Driving Without Insurance In Arizona
What Does Rhe Law In Arizona States?
It is a civil traffic violation to drive without insurance in the state of Arizona. You are not allowed to drive your vehicle unless you have liability insurance that meets the minimum state requirements. The law states that it is required for a driver to have insurance, and must also have proof of insurance “within the motor vehicle.” Proof of insurance may be “displayed on a wireless communication device” (your phone), and if you display your proof of insurance on your phone, you are “not consenting for law enforcement to access other contents of the wireless communication device.”
Now let’s say you’re driving without your insurance and you get a ticket for failure to produce evidence of financial responsibility; first of all, bummer, but secondly, there are a couple possible ways this could go. If you actually had insurance in place at the time of the ticket, but just did not have your insurance card on you at the time, you can produce evidence of your insurance to the court and the charge will be dismissed. But if you did not have insurance at all, it is going to be a hefty penalty expense-wise. While a no insurance violation is not criminal, it is one of the most expensive civil violations out there. The penalties include:
1st Time Offenders:
Driver’s license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for three months. You will be fined roughly $940.
2nd Time Offenders:
If you don’t have insurance within a 36-month time span, your driver’s license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for six months. You will also be fined roughly $1,400.
3rd Time Offenders:
If you don’t have insurance within a 36-month time span, your driver’s license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for one year. You will also be fined about $1,860.
If this happens to you, you will be required to provide proof that you have insurance when you go to get your license, registration and plates reinstated. However, because you have been found responsible for driving without insurance, simply providing your insurance card is no longer enough. You will be required to obtain what is called an SR22 certificate from your insurance company. The SR22 certificate is not an insurance policy, but it certifies to the state that you are insured, and that you will be insured for a particular amount of time in the future.